Ashley Jones: Valor Christian To High Point


Ashley Jones Best Marks 

800 - 2:25.47

1,600 - 5:35

3,200 - 12:08

5k - 18:54


Q) Talk about the recruitment process - what other schools were you looking at, and how did you come to choosing High Point University?

The recruitment process for me was like many other athletes. I reached out to colleges in the beginning, and with more races with better times, colleges started reaching out to me as well. I was also looking at Samford, Whitworth, Point Loma, and Elon University. I concluded that I wanted to go to High Point after my official visit a couple of weeks ago. Not only was the team atmosphere exactly what I was looking for with an incredible coach, but the school has what I desire to study.

Q) What do you plan to study at High Point?

I plan to major in a health science division, preferably exercise science and go into the field of physical therapy, occupational therapy, or sports/athlete rehabilitation.

I would also like to minor in business. I am most interested in minoring in marketing, human resource management, or business communications.

Q) What event do you see yourself focusing on atHigh Point

As far as I am concerned, I would like to focus on the 5k and 6k during XC season and the 800 and 1600 during track season.

Q) You've had success in everything from the 800 on up to the 5k, what would you say is your favorite event, and why?

I enjoy the 800 during track because it requires pure grit and who can hold an uncomfortable threshold for the longest. I also enjoyed the 5k because it takes incredible mental strength and concentration.

Q) What got you interested in running in the first place?

My coach, who has been a family friend for many years, has been encouraging me to start running since I was in 7th grade, but I was initially introduced and began to run as I began training for triathlons. I played soccer my whole life, so transitioning from soccer to triathlons was a different dynamic from transferring from a team sport to a solo sport. I wanted to be apart of a team again, and to improve my capacity to run stronger during triathlons, I started running track first, and cross country followed.

Q You've also had huge success in triathlons (qualifying for nationals on your first outing) - what got you interested in that?

Three and a half years ago, I was in an ATV accident that left me as a right arm amputee. After that incident, my competitive spirit drove me to chase after new sports/goals/aspirations and challenge my body to see what it is truly capable of and not limited to.

I was introduced to triathlons from my prosthetist in Denver and decided to start training quickly after I was introduced. Last summer, I competed in my first triathlon, got a time that qualified me for nationals, and headed to Long Beach a month later to compete at the 2019 Toyota Triathlon/ParaTriathlon National Championships. I competed in early July, placing second in my category at my first national competition.

Q) Could you share any goals you have for your senior year?

My goals for senior year are to continue to get faster in the 5k, 800, and 1600. I also desire to continue to support my team in all of their endeavors and love my teammates.

Q) What would your favorite high school moment be?

My favorite high school moment would be winning the 4x800 relay last year. Not only was it a celebratory moment, but it was a monumental occurrence for the mid-distance program at my high school.