Liberty Bell Division 3

In the Division 3 boys' A race, Joe Manilafasha led
from the gun and looked to have his sights set on
Kevin Williams' course record of 14:51. Manilafasha
passed the mile at 4:40, with Kevin Johnson and Wes
Rickman of Falcon about 16 seconds back. The early
pace maybe a bit too daunting, Manilafasha would come
up just short of the record, while winning impressively 
in 14:56. His time would stand as the best time of the
day in all divisions. Johnson (15:36) and Rickman
(15:38) finished second and third, respectively, to
help lead Falcon to the team title with 62 points.
Niwot followed with 74 points, then came the team from
Laramie, Wyoming, with 142 to round out the trophy
In the girls' Division 3 race, Jen Bremser from Sand
Creek put the hammer down in the name of an 18:20, and
an individual victory. Alicia Nelson from Moffat
County was a close second in 18:27, while Kelly King
of Silver Creek finished third in 18:44. The race for
the team title was down to the wire between Niwot and
Evergreen, with Niwot prevailing in the end, 90-92.
The Cougars top 5 displayed a 14-second pack time
between 20:01 and 20:15 to claim the title, while Bryn
Haebe paced Evergreen with a fourth place finish in
19:16. Scottsbluff HS (Nebraska) finished third with
142 points. Evergreen was also very impressive in the
"B" race, scoring 20 points for the team title...

Contributed by Jesse Johnson