USTFCCCA High School T&F Coaches of the Year

The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced their state-by-state winners of the annual High School Coach of the Year for track and field Monday. 

While Colorado had a slew of top-tier coaches for the USTFCCCA to choose from, they picked two recently crowned state champion coaches. 

Claiming Colorado honors were Bayfield's Coach Josh Walton, and Cherokee Trail's Coach Chris Faust. 

Walton was the boy's coach of the year, as he led the Bayfield boys to the 3A state title this past May, tallying 79.5 points. On the state champion squad was two-time individual state champ Carl HeideChad Winkler, Colton Fine, Ryan Phelps, and David Hawkins adde vital points to Bayfield's tally.

Faust was the girl's coach of the year, with his Cherokee Trail girls claiming a one-point win over Denver East, tallying 85 points. Sydnee Larkin was the lone individual state champion for Cherokee Trail, while Jaiden Paris and Taylor Watson helped put the team over the top.

For more: 2018 USTFCCCA High School T&F Coaches of the Year Press Release