NXN 4 and 5 timers

Courtney Chapman is one of only two runners to compete in five different Nike Cross Nationals races. Photo by Alan Versaw.

As the tenth Nike Cross Nationals (formerly Nike Team Nationals) event closes in on us, it's time to recognize a short list of outstanding athletes--those who have competed at NTN/NXN either four or five times.

This feat was first accomplished in 2007 by Kristin Sternhagen of Yankton, South Dakota. The list would remain at one until 2009 when nine more were added to the list in a single year, including the first two males--Pat Zacharias and Kyle Pittman, both of New Mexico. 

Since 2009, every year has seen additions to the list of four timers. Courtney Chapman became a five timer in 2010, as did Keelin Hollowed in 2012.

The complete list of four and five timers to date follows:

Reagan Anderson, 2009-2012, Wilmington
Brianne Bellon, 2005, 2007-2009, Streaks/Kinetic
Lauren Blackwell, 2007-2010, Wilmington
Amanda Borroughs, 2007-2010, Kinetic
Mackenzie Carter, 2006-2009, Manlius
Shelby Chapin, 2010-2012, Carroll
Courtney Chapman, 2006-2010, Manlius (5)
Jillian Fanning, 2009-2012, Manlius
Karis Frankian, 2008-2011, Newhall/Santa Clarita
Cassandra Goutos, 2005, 2007-2009, Streaks/Kinetic
Keelin Hollowood, 2008-2012, Kinetic (5)
Erin Hooker, 2009-2012, Fort Collins
Sydney King, 2007-2010, Kinetic
Katie Knight, 2009-2012, NW Indiv
Courtney Krieghauser, 2009-2012, Carroll
Kaylin Mahoney, 2007-2010, Newhall/Santa Clarita
Molly Malone, 2006-2009, Manlius
Amber Murakami, 2006-2009, Newhall/Santa Clarita
Amy-Eloise Neale, 2009-2012, NW/Snohomish
Molly Parsons, 2006-2009, Wilmington
Haley Pierce, 2008-2011, Wilmington
Payton Schutte, 2007-2010, Portland
Kristin Sternhagen, 2004-2007, 3-D/Yankton
Elias Gedyon, 2007-2010, Los Angeles
Kyle Pittman, 2006-2009, Los Alamos/SW
Joshua Thorson, 2008-2011, Wayzata/Heartland
Pat Zacharias, 2006-2009, Albuquerque XC
This year should see a few more additions to the list. If athletes participate Saturday as expected, the following individuals will be added to the list of four and five timers this year:
Gina Genco, 2010-2013, Carmel
Madi McLellan, 2010-2013, The Woodlands
Audrey Oweimrin, 2010-2013, Fort Collins
Kelcy Welch, 2010-2013, Carmel
Kai Wilmot, 2010-2013, North Spokane