Track and Field Represented in Steinmark Boys Finalists

Daniel Book is the most recognizable as a track and field athlete among this year's Steinmark Award Boys Finalists. Photo by Alan Versaw.

Aurora, CO, May 22, 2015: The Colorado High School Coaches Association is proud to announce the five finalists for the 2015 CHSCA Freddie Steinmark Award for boys. The Steinmark Award honors the memory of Freddie Steinmark, a member of the 1969 University of Texas national championship football team and Colorado native. Steinmark lost his left leg to cancer six days after playing in the “Game of the Century" as Texas defeated Arkansas 15-14. Steinmark's courage is legendary as University of Texas players honor it to this day by touching a picture of Steinmark as they run onto the football field.

Boys Finalists for 2015 CHSCA Steinmark Award (in alphabetical order):

Daniel Book, Cherry Creek High School

David Louthan, Air Academy High School

Jesse Reed, Paonia High School

Kyle Rosenbrock, Brush High School

James Willis, Lutheran High School

The final recipient of the 2015 CHSCA Freddie Steinmark Award will be announced on Monday, May 25, 2015.

Other nominees:

Brandon Barringer, Skyview High School

Brendon Fulton, Northridge High School

John Heaphey, Aspen High School

Austin Littlefield, Prairie High School

Mike Morean, Cherry Creek High School

Adan Munoz, Rocky Ford High School

Alec Petterson, Brush High School

Brandon Saunders, Wheat Ridge High School

Jacob Smith, Strasburg High School